Chapter 3 – The Way I See It

The End of 5th Grade

Fifth grade has been fun – most of the time.
I had to write a lot.
That was not fun.
I had to read too.
That was ok some of the time.
I liked reading about Steve Jobs.
I also liked making a book trailer in seminar about Tuck Everlasting.
Sarah played Winnie.
I played Jesse.
We got to have free time in the hallway to think about things.
I have a best friend named Mike.
But everyone in my class is a great friend.
I don’t want anyone to feel left out.
I have a friend who was diagnosed with Tourette syndrome this year.
I tried to be a good friend to him.
I was in chorus, because 5th grade could be in chorus.
I had a solo at the end of the year.
I felt uncomfortable about that because I don’t want to be famous.
I didn’t want everyone to put too much attention on me.
But I practiced and my teacher was very nice.
I did a good job.
At the end of the year, we had a celebration.
I liked that.
We got to be outside instead of in school.
Many of my friends were recognized for nice things they did for others.
I didn’t get recognized for anything in 5th grade; but I was happy for my friends.
They did community service and that was helpful.
I will miss elementary school a little bit.

8 thoughts on “Chapter 3 – The Way I See It

  1. As a fifth-grade teacher this pulls at me in a special way. If only we teachers could see these types of thoughts in our students. The pure honesty of it is what matters. Wondering why we seem to teach our kiddos to hide that.

  2. As a former 5th grade teacher this tugged at my heartstrings. Fifth grade seems like the end of innocence for so many kids. Life gets so much more complicated after that, doesn’t it?

  3. Where I taught fifth grade was the first year on Middle School. These exact feelings were felt by the fourth grade class as they got ready to leave one building and enter a new one. Transition is difficult.

  4. You are making everyone who reads this analyze their actions. Even when we have great intentions, sometimes they are misinterpreted by our students. Thanks for shining an awareness light.

  5. As a sixth grade teacher, I find that they are ripest for awareness in this year. If we can just help them see different perspectives and give them permission to question, challenge, and open their hearts, it can really have lasting effects.

  6. I want to share this with the teachers at my school. I think it would give them huge insights into a few kids at our school. Thanks for allowing us to visit your son’s brain.

Leave a Reply

