Chapter 4 – The Way I See It

Me and Math and 5th Grade

In fifth grade, I got to take sixth grade math.

I took a test.

It said I could take sixth grade math.

I had to miss some of the math in fifth grade, but that was ok.

I knew that math already.

Sometimes, when I came back from math class, my fifth grade class was in the middle of writing.

That made me feel uncomfortable, because I didn’t know what they were doing.

I would ask the teacher right away what they were doing.

Sometimes I was interrupting.

That wasn’t good.

Luckily, missing things didn’t happen very often.

In sixth grade math, I was the top student.

I don’t say this to brag.

I just was.

I won the First in Math competition by logging in the most hours.

But that made other students feel bad, so we stopped counting and everyone had the pizza party.

I thought that was a good solution.

At the end of the year, I won the sixth grade math award.

Even though I was only in fifth grade.

At the beginning of the year, I thought that the sixth grade students sometimes made fun of me.

I got to know and work with a few of the students in my class.

They were all girls; they were very nice to me.

Later, I realized that no one was making fun of me.

Sometimes they were just being funny.

Other times, they were not talking to me at all.

If I get a math problem wrong, I sometimes get very upset.

I think I should already know how to do the problem because I’m so good at math.

My teacher who helps me understand about people and getting along with others says that, “I’m being too hard on myself.”

I’m not so sure.

But the teacher is nice, so I will try to remember what he has taught me.

I will try to be flexible and not disappointed when I make mistakes in math.

I like it best when I understand the math and get the answers right.

That really makes me happy.

17 thoughts on “Chapter 4 – The Way I See It

  1. I feel like your writing is getting better with each entry. Like you’ve entered his thinking this time instead of written what you’d think he’d say. I love this one. It says so much about our inner monologues and how much they affect how we do business in the world. There is so much no one knows about how we think and why we do what we do.

  2. I think we all tend to be a little too hard on ourselves when we make a mistake…especially if we feel that we should have knows better. I love the solution of the pizza party for all.

  3. I’m a first-time visitor to your blog, so I’m not really sure about context based on the comment thread. That said, I admire people who study math, who excel in math, who teach math, who embrace math. It’s never been my best subject, unless I’m doing Macy’s math. Love the interior monologue quality of the writing.

  4. He is in an age where kids are difficult to understand because their temperament changes when the wind blows. How difficult it is to navigate these waters and know how he will be received day by day. What a gift he has for math. Have you read The Boy Who Loved Math by Deborah Heiligman? As you write about your son, this book comes to mind.

  5. rosecappelli says:

    I am so pulled in to your blog, Aileen. I don’t know Jacob, but you most certainly have captured his voice. I may not comment every day, but you can be sure I am reading.

  6. I think you hit on so many people’s feelings but they are unable to put them into words. I know I have felt that way many times and my 13 year old, though very bright and capable worries all the time. thanks

  7. I can’t imagine how hard it would be to be a little different at this age. I love our sixth graders, but they are all about what every one else thinks. It’s really hard to be different. I’m glad your son knows his strengths and passions.

Leave a Reply

