The Way I See It – Chapter 10

Vacation – Dad’s Point of View

Jacob is frustrating to no end.

Here we are, a thousand miles away from home and he’s complaining.

He’s bored.

He can’t play his video games.

He’s hungry.

He’s tired.

It’s hot.

All of these things are true, but why can’t he learn to deal with them the same way the rest of us do?

I have Asperger’s, too.

I can’t just lie down in public whenever I want to.

He is embarrassing and stubborn.

I just lost it when we were at Sea World.

He just wouldn’t stop complaining and hanging on his mom.

All I ask is that he acts his age.

I don’t know any other eleven year olds who act the way he does.

When he started to cry, aka, have a meltdown, because we wouldn’t buy him tokens to play video games at the arcade, I’d had it.

“That’s it!

We’re leaving.”

“But Dad,” the other two kids cried.

“Nope.

Jacob has ruined it for everyone.

We are leaving.

No souvenirs at the gift shop either.”

I was able to calm down later, at the hotel.

My wife took the kids to the pool while I rested.

Why can’t we just enjoy normal things like other families do?

9 thoughts on “The Way I See It – Chapter 10

  1. Loved the new perspective of the same activity! Events are the same but the feelings and frustrations come through. Your role is a difficult one to navigate between all the conflicting voices.

  2. Like elsie, I love this change of perspective. Kind of a he said…he said. It’s always interesting to see how different people react to the exact same situation. It might be interesting to hear the thoughts and reactions of everyone involved in this scenario.

  3. This was an interesting perspective, and also insightful;. Asperger’s has a wide range, and it takes time and patient parents to lead the way to “appropriate” reactions. So hard.

  4. Ouch. My husband takes our kids’ behaviors differently than I do and I hate it. I can’t control how other people react but oh how I want to. I felt so much as I read this. Thank you for taking the time to write all sides. It’s good for everyone.

  5. Love having Dad’s point of view. Hard stuff. We are all human, and there is no normal in that. It’s especially tough when you have a child with Asperger’s. I can’t imagine. Meeting all of your family’s needs is so difficult. As moms, I think we take a lot of responsibility for everyone’s happiness.

    • He and my son don’t always see things the same way. He is not always convinced that my son’s motives are what I perceive them to be. But I think he, too, views life very differently 🙂

Leave a Reply

