The Way I See It – Chapter 12

When I am bored, I play games.

Most of the time they are video games.

I only have a certain amount of time each day to play video games.

It’s my “screen time.”

When we travel, I get lots of screen time.

When we are at home, if my parents are busy, I get lots of screen time.

At other times, I ask to play video games, and my parents get very angry.

When I do something wrong, my punishment is almost always to lose video games.

I get very upset when this happens.

I feel so stupid for doing the something wrong.

I hate that my parents can take away the thing I like best.

I don’t think it’s fair.

It’s not showing me grace, like they ask me to show my dad and brother, who I love, but who are also the one who give me the hardest times.

When I am not allowed to play video games, which I’m very good at, I play board games.

That rhymes with bored.

I am bored when I play board games.

Get it?

But I’m not really bored by some games.

I make up my own games.

Here is one of many games that I’ve made up:

Sometimes, my brother thIMG_2691inks my games are very fun.

Other times, like when I ask to play my game “Island Chess,” which is three-dimensional chess, he says that the game is too hard to understand, or that I’m cheating.

I don’t cheat.

I don’t lie.

A lot of people tell me they don’t understand the rules of my games though.

I guess they just don’t see it the way that I do in my head.

12 thoughts on “The Way I See It – Chapter 12

  1. I can so relate to this “It’s not showing me grace, like they ask me to show my dad and brother, who I love, but who are also the one who give me the hardest times.” I offer that in our house all the time. Why are we all so hard on each other? I scream.

    Those games are spectacular! so intricate. Perhaps he’ll work at Parker Brothers one day. 🙂

  2. The 3-D drawing of the game simply amazes my. Made up games are always more exciting and fun that store bought games. There may be a future in this.

  3. Brick Race looks like fun! I’m always up for a good game or puzzle. I love games that kids create. Their thinking always amazes me. I’ve been seeing a lot about “coding”. I don’t completely understand what goes into coding but it sounds like something your son might like.

  4. WOW! I went to the beginning and read all of the poems and I am loving them!!! To write these poems from your son’s POV is such an interesting perspective. He sounds like a terrific kid! I love the last line of this poem, “I guess they just don’t see it the way that I do in my head.” So wise!!! I’m looking forward to reading more. Thank you for writing these poems. I am enjoying them so much!

  5. “Showing grace” is so hard to do. Who among us does this well? Especially with the ones we love the most. The teaching/guiding you give to negotiate the world is beautiful.

  6. Somehow I missed yesterday’s post! Brick race looks like lots and lots of fun. Also really hard to draw! I agree with several other commenters. Showing grace, especially to the people who are closest to us is really hard to do!

Leave a Reply

