The Way I See It – Chapter 15

One Last Vacation

We took one more vacation to see my uncle, aunt, and three cousins, with just my mom and sister, to Tulsa, Oklahoma.

When we got there, I was allowed to play video games right away with my cousin who is ten.

We like a lot of the same things.

Except for when she showed me a picture on her mom’s iPad of a boy going to the bathroom.

I didn’t think that was right.

I went downstairs to tell my mom.

“Mom, I think that Nancy showed me something that I wasn’t supposed to see.”

Mom asked me what it was.

I told her what it was, because I always tell my mom the truth.

I do this because it is nice to tell people the truth.

People can be upset or confused when someone lies to them.

My mom did not get mad at me.

She said it was the right thing to do, to tell her.

It was not something I should be seeing.

She said that Nancy might not like that I told on her.

She said that she might not want to play with me for a little bit.

But, that didn’t mean that what I did was wrong or that I should not have done it.

That is how people feel when they “get caught” though.

Nancy didn’t get too mad at me, that I could tell, anyway.

My family in Oklahoma has a really cool pool.

Nancy and I played “monkey in the middle” in the pool with a splash ball.

Sometimes my sister, mom, and uncle played.

Other times, no one wanted to play and that made me feel frustrated.

My uncle is sometimes sarcastic with me.

I know that sarcasm can be funny.

It is funny on the “Big Bang Theory.”

Some people have called me “Sheldon.”

Once, for Halloween, I dressed up as Sheldon, dressing up as The Flash.

That was funny.

Sometimes, sarcasm can be mean.

Like with kids at school.

Like when my mom says, “Thanks for cleaning up,” and I thought she was being sarcastic.

She said she wasn’t and that, that hurt her feelings a little bit.

I’m not sure why her feelings were hurt.

I just said that I couldn’t tell if she was being sarcastic.

When my uncle is being sarcastic, he is trying to be funny.

I definitely don’t get his jokes.

It sort of feels like he is making fun of me.

My mom says that he loves me, but doesn’t quite understand me because we don’t see him very much.

I guess we don’t understand each other, then.

11 thoughts on “The Way I See It – Chapter 15

  1. Great post! You are so immersed in your MC’s point of view…you nailed the voice and all the little misunderstandings…the nuances that language dole up for kids on the Spectrum. What people don’t always realize is that kids, in general, are suspicious of sarcasm. It doesn’t come easily to them. I’ve been told sarcasm is ‘barbed anger.’ I don’t know if this is always true, but I think it’s something to keep an eye on, especially in the classroom!

  2. Every time that I read one of your posts, I’m blown away. I feel like I’m able to walk in your son’s shoes and experience things through his eyes. I can’t thank you enough for sharing these posts.

  3. Your boy is negotiating the toughest things. In some ways, the need to confront them in such a literal way is a blessing. The idea of sarcasm, laughing at and with, are so subtle. Many kids and adults don’t have the habit of discussing the possible hurt and confusion brought on by it.

  4. rosecappelli says:

    You are incredible, Aileen. I feel like I know Jacob although I have never met him. Now I want to because I love how he thinks.

  5. Love the voice and the right and wrong thinking, so clear. Great project –now I need to go back and read all of the poems. : ) bonus! I don’t get sarcasm either–it never seems funny to me.

  6. Many people don’t realize that their sarcasm actually hurts. I am really enjoying getting to know your son and his thought processes through these posts.

Leave a Reply

