The Way I See It – Chapter 17

Brothers – (Brother’s Point of View)

My brother is nice.

He is really good at math.

He is really smart.

When my dad cannot help me with my math homework, Jacob always can.

That’s convenient!

I don’t think a lot of his games are fair because he always wins.

Yes, it is his fault if he is good at playing games – if he wants me to keep playing with him.

This one time, when we were playing “Island Chess,” there was this one piece that could not move.

It’s called the bishop.

I didn’t think it was fair that it couldn’t move on land, only water.

I wanted it to be able to move on both.

Jacob made up a “that’s not fair” rule because I said it was not fair.

How was that fair?

I like playing with Jacob and he is a good friend.

But he is not always easy to play with.

We talk about what he wants to talk about most of the time.

He is funny, but sometimes, I just don’t get it.

He’s my brother though, so I will always want to be with him.

I miss him when he goes away.

I don’t want to play with anyone else, definitely not my sister!

10 thoughts on “The Way I See It – Chapter 17

  1. cmargocs says:

    Brothers are like that, aren’t they? We like them, but we don’t. I can say that once we hit our teens, my brother and I became best friends. I can always call him to hash a problem out or celebrate something.

  2. “He is my brother though…” They are lucky to have each other. Even when it’s not fair. I’m not sure I understand the that’s not fair rule either. Maybe that’s my problem?

  3. Another interesting glimpse into the head of your son. Sibling relationships are tough. But so rewarding. Love the line that he is funny, but sometimes I don’t get it. So honest, once again.

  4. My brothers and I often made up rules as we went along. No rhyme or reason for them, we just did. We usually thought the other’s rules were unfair.

  5. I love learning that your older son is writing some of these with you. What a great family project! (Project doesn’t feel like the right word, this work feels too important for that, but I can’t think of a better word!) Sorry!

Leave a Reply

