The Way I See It – Chapter 26

Chorus

I was in fifth grade chorus last year.
It was fun and at the end of the year I got a solo.
I was very nervous because I don’t like to be famous or have too many people notice me.
I did very well in my fifth grade solo at the end of the year.
When sixth grade started, I had to try out for chorus, but I think everyone who tried out made it.
There are about 80 students in sixth grade chorus.
Most of the people are really nice in chorus.
I only go one time a week because I have band and seminar during that block of the day as well.
I go to chorus with other students in band who sing the same part that I do.
One day, I was running up and down on the bleachers.
Someone else in chorus said that I should stop and bumped me hard after he said it.
I started to get very upset.
I don’t understand why he couldn’t just ask me to stop.
I would have.
Why did he have to bump into me too?
Then, he said to me, “Bet you $20 that you are going to tell on me now.”
Why did he say that?
I have to admit that I probably was going to tell, because he bumped into me which was completely unnecessary.
I think that makes it a good reason to tell.
I’ve learned that I can’t always tell the teacher what is going on.
Some kids make fun of me about that.
Sometimes it makes it worse to tell.
Other times, it’s very important to tell.
I thought that this was one of those times.
So I told anyway.
I don’t think I will have to give him $20 because I didn’t shake on the bet.
When I told the chorus director, she said that I did the right thing.
I actually went to talk to the guidance counselor too.
I don’t stand near that boy on the risers anymore in chorus.
He leaves me alone.
And I learned that maybe I shouldn’t run up and down the risers because it might bother other people.

9 thoughts on “The Way I See It – Chapter 26

  1. These are the toughest lessons. It’s about negotiating all of the rules. Knowing right from wrong and choosing which rules to follow is so hard. He is doing such a good job!

  2. I love the learning and the difficulty in distinguishing when to tell and when not to- -such insight he has into what others think of him. Glad he didn’t have to learn the bleacher lesson by falling down and breaking a tooth–for a minute I thought he was going to fall.

  3. Telling what someone did is always a difficult decision to make. Taunting someone about telling is bullying in my book. Bumping anyone on the risers could lead to a person being hurt. Definitely did the right thing.

  4. Such a hard situation. Such a hard decision to make. Hopefully the other boy learned a lesson too. It sounds like he has a lot more he needs to learn than your son does!

Leave a Reply

