The Way I See It – Chapter 29

Band

I’ve been playing the clarinet since fourth grade.

I thought it would be a good choice for me, since I played the recorder in third grade and earned a black belt in “Recorder Karate.”

I was one of the first in my grade to do this.

By the end, everyone had a black belt.

That was nice.

I really enjoyed playing clarinet in fourth grade.

I also played the cello.

I didn’t like that as much.

I didn’t want to practice.

I practiced the clarinet a lot.

Sometimes, I would just go into my room and play ahead in my clarinet book.

I taught myself the notes.

My dad helped to.

He played clarinet when he was younger.

I chose not to play the cello in fifth grade.

So, my mom wanted me to try to play the alto sax, so I could be in the brass jazz band when I was older.

Clarinet cannot play in this band.

But I didn’t really like playing it.

I understood the notes well.

It took a lot of air to play it and I always felt tired afterwards.

One good effect was that it helped me with my clarinet playing.

I played stronger.

I like playing trills.

I learned how to play them from You Tube.

I just searched how to play them, and there were lots of videos to show me how.

In the beginning of sixth grade, we had to practice scales all of the time.

I liked doing this.

It made me think about the math that is in music.

I love math.

I am the only boy who plays clarinet.

Another boy plays the bass clarinet.

That’s a different instrument.

I don’t mind that I am the only boy.

I think that I am good at playing the clarinet and I like it.

That is what matters most.

7 thoughts on “The Way I See It – Chapter 29

  1. rosecappelli says:

    So interesting that he sees the math in music. And so true that liking the instrument you play is what matters most.

Leave a Reply

