Slice of Life – Day 1

Books I Feel Like Abandoning, Sort Of

I am reading a book right now.

It started out really good.

I usually like nonfiction and adventure books.

This one is a “relationship” book.

I like learning about other people.

My friends book-talked it in class, so I am reading it.

It’s what I call a “pity party” book, though.

What I mean by this is that the main character starts to go through a bad time in the book and everything goes wrong for them.

I feel uncomfortable focusing so much on the problems that other people have.

I also don’t like it when everything goes wrong for the main character in the book.

I feel helpless and sometimes I dream like it’s happening to me – the events in the book.

This makes me feel depressed.

I don’t always abandon these types of books though.

For instance, I kept reading Wonder and Fish in a Tree and they are among my favorite books.

I guess it’s hard for me to focus on emotions and bullying for so long.

I will be very glad when the character in this book finds a way to “solve his problem.”

Or his friends make him forget about his troubles.

This might not be the way it always happens in real life, but it makes it feel like a better ending.

7 thoughts on “Slice of Life – Day 1

  1. lynnedorfman says:

    Aileen, I totally get this. Your line about the main character – yes – I get that way in movies, too. I want problems to be solved; I want everyone to be happy. I guess it is okay to abandon a book – but I keep waiting for things to get better. I love your free verse poem – both simple and complex when you think about books and the way you feel when you read. Thanks so much for sharing this piece. Much love to you on this sunny SOL morning!

    • Thanks. This is the way I wrote the whole of my “Liam” book. When things slow down for you in 2018 or 2019 – lol, I will have to share the whole piece with you. XO

  2. For instance, I kept reading Wonder and Fish in a Tree and they are among my favorite books.

    I guess it’s hard for me to focus on emotions and bullying for so long.

    Liam’s voice is strong here – sometimes its almost too much when a book resonates to closely to you.

  3. I love hearing your son’s voice in this piece. Absolutely Almost certainly fits well with Wonder and Fish in a Tree–wonder if he will end up liking this book as much as those? My son struggles with the same types of stories for similar reasons. He was especially bothered by the parents in Absolutely Almost!

  4. It is hard to see a character we bond with go through one tough trial after another until things everything works out in the end…sometimes. Love your son’s perspective.

Leave a Reply

