Slice of Life – Day 7

Things I learned from my two days of gourmet cooking:

  1. I would like to be a sous chef some day.
  2. My knife cuts need to improve greatly. Anne Burrell would be all over my case for my knife cuts.
  3. When ginger is not cut small enough, it tastes a little like eating tree bark.
  4. Cilantro is hot! Use in extreme moderation.
  5. I actually like coconut milk. I cooked it slowly, so it did not separate (I was really afraid of this).
  6. A little garlic goes a long way, despite the post my brother recently made about their never being too much garlic.
  7. Leftovers in my home have heretofore being quite underrated.
  8. Despite how delicious everything smelled, none of the boys in my home would try these two dishes.
  9. With directions given the right way, I was actually able to have all parts of the meal finished at the same time!
  10. I am looking forward to continuing my culinary journey.
13 thoughts on “Slice of Life – Day 7

  1. Hi Aileen! Fun-a cooking class! Sounds like it was filled with great learning and made lasting memories. The Anne Burrell line made me laugh out loud. Keep cooking et Bon Appétit!

  2. What did you cook? I’m thinking it’s Thai related because of the coconut milk and cilantro. I’ve never found cilantro hot, I use it quite a bit. Cooking is an adventure and it is a challenge to have all parts ready at the same time.

  3. I have to laugh as I read your post because I loathe cooking. That’s probably due to the fact that my husband did study culinary arts and worked in the restaurant business for many years. Now he cooks for the family and his talent is to treasure. Have fun on your cooking expedition!

  4. I love your list of reminders post gourmet cooking! What a great way to reflect and generate a creative slice. Number 3 made me laugh – I totally agree! I’m definitely using a grater from now on. Keep cooking and writing!

Leave a Reply

