Slice of Life – Day 13

Poet TREE

Of all the writing I have to do in school, I like poetry the most.

I like it because I can write exactly what’s on my mind about the topic.

I don’t need to have to plan out everything, like in a narrative.

I don’t need to do research before I write, like in information or argument writing.

Here are some examples of poems I have written:

 

Fat Cat

Leaping up to the windowsill,

The fat, fluffy cat chases the fly,

As the bright sun warms her fur.

 

Prancing across the dining room,

She continues to pursue her prey

As she looks up and bats

like a boxer.

 

She won’t care if someone comes,

Because she’s determined to catch the buzzing bug

(For a snack).

 

Poet Tree

What grows on a poet tree?

Poets or poems?

I assume the only way to find out would be to plant one.

But nothing would grow if you planted poetry

Or a poet tree (probably because they don’t exist).

 

Tennessee Hike

We went on a hike in Tennessee.

Many misty mountains around the path—

which was 5 miles.

The trail was tiring, though it was paved.

Hiking up to Clingman’s dome

one and a quarter miles of the ground

way above the evergreens.

The height made a great view

of the Smokies

far away in the distance.

 

Kieran was far up ahead

then Mea followed by Dad—

while I was in back with Mom.

The coiled snake we passed

and other wildlife were in view

while we enjoyed the hike.

The feeling of love

when you’re with your family,

seeing things you can’t at home,

on a hike, on a vacation in Tennessee.

 

Chess

Arrival at the chess table

Waiting for an opponent.

He comes and sits down.

The chess match begins.

My pawn out two spaces.

His knight, ahead two, over one.

The match continues.

Capturing a pawn.

Opponent takes my knight

Without noticing the bishop in the corner

that ambushes his piece.

Minutes pass.

Down to my king

against a king—

and a rook,

as well as the smashed bishop.

11 moves until an tie is forced.

But as I think that I am forced to lose,

My opponent makes a huge blunder

And a stalemate ends the game.

19 thoughts on “Slice of Life – Day 13

  1. Always love reading poetry. Your son certainly is not afraid to try out many different topics – even chess! Love the Tennessee Hike poem – now I want to do it! Musings about a Poet Tree and the Cat poem – wow! Your son is laready a poet! Thanks for sharing, Aileen.

  2. These are amazing! I love his reasons at the top. With his permission, I would love to use this post in a session I am doing this week with some teachers. There is a lot to learn from his reflection and his poems! Thank you for sharing.
    Clare

  3. Absolutely loved these poems! Your son is quite the poet! I went to college in Tennessee. It brought back lots of memories. Loved the Smoky Mountains! Thank you for sharing!

  4. rosecappelli says:

    Love these poems, Aileen! Especially the one about the Tennessee hike. I think I also especially appreciate that Liam loves poetry – so many kids his age don’t, but he certainly can explain why. Thanks for sharing!

  5. I like to dabble in poetry too. My favorite is the CHESS poem. While I don’t play chess, I can see the game unfolding! Thanks for sharing!

  6. Wonderful poems. Please ask Liam if I may use them with my after school book club? My favorite is Fat Cat and especially this line: “As she looks up and bats like a boxer.” And I adore the ending of your Tennessee poem:
    “The feeling of love
    when you’re with your family,
    seeing things you can’t at home,
    on a hike, on a vacation in Tennessee.”
    I like the way your prepositional phrases seem to wrap up all that family love.

  7. Your Poet Tree is inspiring! I also love that poetry is freeing- no need to research or plan, just write. Thank you for sharing your ideas in verse. “The fat fluffy cat chases the fly” made me smile to think of it!

Leave a Reply

