Slice of Life – Day 14

Pi

March 14 is Einstein’s birthday.

It is also Pi Day.

I like celebrating this day, because it’s a way to commemorate the discovery of Pi.

Pi is important in math because it’s how you find measurements on circles, cylinders, and spheres.

I like Pi Day because it’s close to my birthday.

I like math and it keeps the celebrating going for a little bit longer.

Mom got me a Pi Day shirt for this year, because it is a special date that happens once in a century: 3/14/15.

The first five digits of Pi are 3.1415.

Get it?

I think this is funny.

The shirt is red, which used to be my favorite color.

Kids in school ask me if I’m going to wear my shirt on Pi Day.

I tell them, yes.

It’s the one day of the year, where I can share my love of math with others.

11 thoughts on “Slice of Life – Day 14

  1. First of all, congratulations on commenting on the most blogs- 150 (amazing feat). Second, thanks for reminding me it’s Pi Day coming up. I heard it on the news.

  2. Last year we took our daughter to Princeton for their Pi day festivities. She was very proud to pick up her Pi shirt and wristband. Today her math teacher asked all the students to bring in different pies.

Leave a Reply

