Slice of Life – Day 21

Minecraft

It makes me curious that, even after avoiding the Minecraft movement until just a few months ago, and with older children, that it still has taken hold of our middle child.

I read an article that said that there are many higher order skills involved in Minecraft. Is this what appeals to him? I know that he loves “being in charge” of his own world. He is so curious about how to build this world and discovering all of the features it has.

He’s even gotten in trouble because of it. He was watching YouTube videos on how to unlock things and complete stuff – you can see my level of understanding. He came to me crying about his “deceit.” He was so sorry for lying to us. It gave us a great opportunity to talk about asking permission and obsessions.

He has things to talk about with his friends at school. One of his friends who likes Minecraft is a girl, so it’s not just a boy thing. He looks forward to sharing with them what he’s done in “his world” over the weekend. He likes to play with his brother, so it gives them a connection as well.

Maybe I was wrong to hold off for as long as I did? But he’s enjoying it now and I’m intrigued by what it has to offer that goes beyond just “playing video games.”

8 thoughts on “Slice of Life – Day 21

  1. Judy C. says:

    Being retired and not around kids, I had not heard of minecraft until we started our 8th & 9th grade mentoring program. One young man I was working with told me all about it and about the things he created. I’m sure they can become obsessed with this program, but it does seem to have some skills involved.

  2. So many kids love it — hard to balance. My kids missed this phase I think, but there were certainly other crazes they got caught up in. My husband or I always tried to play or watch whatever it was so we could make connections to life for them. I think sometimes we need to engage in what they are engaged in so we can understand, honor it and connect it for them. Important topic and questions for all parents.
    Clare

  3. My husband is the first one to condone video games and talk about all of their benefits. If your son’s excited about one that requires higher thinking without violence, hang on to it as long as possible!

  4. rosecappelli says:

    I don’t know much about Minecraft, but it sounds like it is something he enjoys and helps him in other areas as well. It’s much the same as what books can do for us, I think.

  5. I know Minecraft exists and that is about all I know. If it is something that requires thinking and strategy planning I guess it can’t be all that bad.

  6. I’ve always mocked those who play Minecraft UNTIL I started playing myself! A teacher friend of mine started me looking at MinecraftEDU and how it can be used in the classroom (pretty cool). I’ve also started participating in the weekly chat at #minecraftedu.

    Personally, it is QUITE addicting as you have to constantly be building, gathering resources, and figuring out how to improve your situation. And my daughter (another Minecraft player) told me about how there are different worlds, and one with a dragon!! So cool!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thank you for geeking out with this slice! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. We planned a minecraft birthday party before I even knew if it was ‘Minecraft or “Mind-craft” . But now my son has helped me see his love of Minecraft. I see the creations he builds and watch how effortlessly he maneuvers around this world and utilizes his resources. I can cheer on his skills and talents just like I do when he plays ball on the field. It is simply not letting it consume your life….just like anything.

Leave a Reply

