Slice of Life – Day 25

“Mom, what do you do when someone is bossy?”
“What’s going on, buddy?”
“What if someone tried to boss you everyday and it was really annoying?”
“Well, I guess if that was happening to me, I would tell them to stop.”
“I already tried that. She didn’t.”
Dad, jumping onto the bed, “What are we talking about?”
“Someone being bossy at school.”
“Kieran needs help dealing with someone who is giving him a hard time.
What if, the next time she tells you what to do, you say to her, I am so over you bossing me.”
“Or… You could say, does somebody need a hug?”
Giggles from the parents.
Silence from the child.
“I could never say anything like that.”
“What would you say?”
“If she said, stop talking, Kieran, I could say, stop telling me what to do. Then if she said, I don’t care what you say, I could say, then why are you talking to me?”
Together: “That could work. Try that.”
“I think you just need to show her that you aren’t ok being spoken to like that.”
“I think you’re right.”
12 thoughts on “Slice of Life – Day 25

  1. The conversation really illustrates a closeness. Kieran trusts sharing difficult things and looks his parents for guidance. I thought I was reading a self-help parenting book for a minute. It was perfect!

  2. “Dad, jumping on the bed.”
    “Giggles from the parents.”
    “Silence from the child.”
    All that dialogue would be wonderful by itself, but you elevated it with small phrases that set the scene, and the mood. Not to mention, you highlight the importance of dialogue in the parent-child relationship. You reveal the power of humor, and you show how being a sounding board allowed your son to arrive at his own conclusions, giving him a path forward. This slice is so powerful in all that it shows and communicates.

  3. It’s funny how now that I’m a parent, I realize that all those conversations my mom and dad had with me—conversations I often found annoying—were ways of rehearsing for the real world. Now that I’m a parent, I’ve realized how important these conversations are. I think I took for granted the value of rehearsal, but it’s a safe way for our children to begin to tangle with the world and the people and conflicts that may await. Thank you so much for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

