#SOL17 – Day 18 – Family Poetry

image

This post is inspired by Janet Wong’s poem “Dad” from Good Luck Gold.

My father is like a loyal Labrador – a great guide in life. A best friend, hard working, strong, a protector.

My mother is like a domestic house cat – aloof much of the time, but when you get that “purr” of attention, your heart soars from being in her undivided sights.

My husband is like an armadillo – having built up armor over the years, he’s an incredibly hard worker. Underneath, if you are lucky enough to get him to let down his guard, there’s a soft and vulnerable side to him.

My older son is like a sloth – surprisingly speedy when necessary. Strong body – slow and steady to accomplish his goals.

My middle son is like a Tasmanian devil – small and growing more solitary with (teen) age. Constantly active, capable of surprising speed and endurance. A whirlwind of a child.

My daughter is like a cheetah – fast, a survivor, beautiful, graceful, and sometimes a little illusive.

I wonder what animal they would pick for me?

 

 

 

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “#SOL17 – Day 18 – Family Poetry

  1. margaretsmn says:

    Great idea both for writing and thinking deeply about your peeps. I’d love to meet your sloth. Is he as sweet and cuddly as these animals seem?

  2. First, I love the structure. I’m definitely trying this out soon in my writing! Second, this stanza: “My mother is like a domestic house cat – aloof much of the time, but when you get that “purr” of attention, your heart soars from being in her undivided sights.” WOW!

  3. schmidtkristas says:

    I LOVE this!! I have never thought about my family members in this way…I will need to give that some thought. I also felt connected, because I also have 2 boys & a girl…and my girl LOVES cheetahs. Obsessed might be a good word for it. And when I read your connections for cheetah to your daughter I was struck with hoe appropriate they were for mine as well. Thank you for sharing this today.

Leave a Reply

