#SOL17 – Day 31 – Everybody Says… Kieran

Everybody says

I am my mother’s son:

the light hair when we were younger, wide nose, wide toes,

the energy to power a small city, a love for singing,

the non-stop talking when we are excited.

Everybody says

I take after my father’s behaviors,

the intensity, the angry spells,

and even the love of working with my hands.

Everybody says

I have my paternal grandfather’s personality,

the love for animals and being outdoors;

An passion for doing what I love to do.

Everybody says

I look like a mini-Liam,

I do wear all of his hand-me-down clothes,

how well I do at math and music,

also our mutual love for video games.

Everybody says,

Everybody says,

Everybody says…

But I just want to be me.

With a nod to my mentor text: “Everybody Says” by Dorothy Aldis in Songs of Myself compiled by Georgia Heard and posted/blogged by Lynne Dorfman.

8 thoughts on “#SOL17 – Day 31 – Everybody Says… Kieran

  1. Great poem! The energy to power a small city describes you so perfectly, Aileen, as do the words passion and intensity. You are a remarkable human being, and I am thrilled to have you as my friend! Your writing on this blog was always interesting, refreshing, and filled with emotions that tugged at my heart. Thank you for sharing!

  2. I am thinking, yes, he is his mother’s son. Such a resemblance! After reading your last two slices I have started to write one of these poems about my daughter. Thanks!

  3. Aileen,
    What another great slice of life. I appreciate your poems about Kieran and Liam. They are sweet descriptions. Like Amy, I’m being inspired to try one myself. Thanks again for sharing.

    Denise

  4. I love how you used this scaffold – I read Lynne’s and went back to the original. Did Kieran help you write it? I love the line: “the energy to power a small city,” –what a great angle on having a lot of energy!! Thank you for sharing a glimpse into you son.
    Clare

Leave a Reply

