Moving

Early on in the boys’ first and third grade years, I took a job two hours away. Starting in November, I couldn’t commute home during the week.

three kids

We kept the kids in their school until we sold the house. We put our house on the market in October, but it didn’t sell it until February. By then, we thought we would keep them in their current school until closer to the end of the year, so they wouldn’t have too much disruption and keep all of their friends.

The time was hard on all of us. I cried a lot at night, as I talked to and said goodnight to my family 100 miles away. I ate a lot of take-out and spent most nights alone. The boys had times when they struggled, which showed up bad behaviors at school.

Through it all, they had teachers and friends who helped them during this time.

We reunited as a family at the end of March, in our new home and school.

My husband stopped working that January so he could take care of Mea full time. She stopped going to pre-school to save on money. When we were reunited, she didn’t notice much difference; just that I was home more often and she had to share her dad again.

I’m happy to say that the move was ultimately a positive one for our family. I have many stories of wonderful educators and experiences from this new adventure.

9 thoughts on “Moving

  1. Wow, Aileen! That must have been very hard on you! It sounds like you have a very supportive husband and that your kids are confident that they are loved. Whenever you share a photo of your kids, my heart just melts!

  2. You certainly have had a lot of experiences with this wonderful family of yours. And you always land on your feet, making bold but good decisions. Good luck with your next move!

  3. Kids are so resilient. Sounds like you had a village to support you and them. I think those influences and connections add so much to a person and a family. There were many lessons learned for them I am sure.
    Clare

Leave a Reply

