Love, Liam

039

Liam shows me and tells me that he loves me.

He shows me by leaning on me and sitting close, especially when something important is happening in his life.

He says, “I love you,” at least six times before I leave for work in the morning.

He shows me by hugging me at least six times before I leave for work in the morning.

He tells me by asking if there is anything he can do for me.

He shows me by kissing me on the cheek.

He asks me if I am happy.

He shows me by sometimes kissing me lightly on the lips; he doesn’t always remember that this is not something a 14-year-old boy does with his mom.

I thank him and remind him, then hug him tight to let him know that he will always be my little boy.

7 thoughts on “Love, Liam

  1. Showing is always more meaningful than just saying the words. Liam has the perfect combination of saying and showing. How wonderful for both of you.

  2. As a mother of 4 daughters, I always appreciate perspectives from mothers of sons. Liam is clearly a wonderful young boy with such a others-focused spirit! Keep hugging him tight – the years slip by far too quickly.

Leave a Reply

