Pool Party

003.JPGI was invited to a party.

It was for a girl who was in my class in fourth grade, but was not in my class in fifth grade.

She’s really happy that she’s going to be in gifted seminar with me next year, in sixth grade.

I knew a few of the kids that were at the party.

My mom went to the party with me, but she did not swim.

I don’t know why she came to a pool party, but didn’t swim.

But I was glad that she was there.

We were swimming, but then chose to use the slip and slide.

I fell and hit my head.

It really hurt.

I couldn’t stop crying because of how much it hurt.

My mom helped me calm down and get back to the party.

I didn’t like the things they had there to eat.

There were vegetables and dip.

Too slimy.

There were potato chips to go with meat sandwiches.

Yum – yuck.

I ate potato chips and apple juice.

Guess it was a good thing I ate before we came to the party.

I have to do that a lot.

Most people don’t serve food that I like.

It’s too spicy, or slippery, or a vegetable.

I am better than I was, at eating.

But there’s no way that I’m eating broccoli.

I read one time that it might cure autism.

I am not willing to take the chance that that was just a rumor.

I’d have to suffer through eating broccoli and nothing would come of it.

And maybe I don’t want to “be cured.”

Autism makes me who I am.

After eating, we had a really fun time in the pool.

I invented a game.

I do that often.

For a while, everyone played my game.

Then they didn’t.

It was okay for a while, because I kept playing by myself.

Then it got a little boring.

I couldn’t find my friend who had invited me, so I asked my mom if we could leave.

She said I had to say thank you and goodbye.

I said this to a woman and then to my friend.

(I think the woman was her mom, but I am not sure).

That was another nice celebration at the end of fifth grade.

9 thoughts on “Pool Party

  1. Writing from your son’s perspective is so powerful. Seeing the world through his eyes made me so much more emotional. I might have to try this from my teenage daughter’s perspective one day.

  2. Interesting. Very convincing voice. I have a friend with a son who has autism and it’s so hard to communicate with him that I’m afraid many people just don’t try or don’t want to upset him, etc. This essay reveals the personality we are not able to “see” or “hear.”

  3. I love Liam’s POV, humor, and wisdom. Why take a chance on a rumor? I definitely agree with him that his autism makes him who is is – someone special.

Leave a Reply

