Pool Party – Sara’s Point of View

liam 5th grade school picture.jpg

Mom said that I could have a pool party to celebrate the end of the school year.

She said it had to be small.

She said I didn’t have to share the pool with my sister either.

Yes!

So I started to make a list.

I could invite six people.

We talked it over at lunch, Hannah and Katie, and me.

We put three boys on the list.

A party with boys!

Hannah wanted to invite Ryan.

Katie asked me to ask Joey.

I invited Jacob.

He’s nice.

He’s really, really smart.

I like how smart he is in math.

I am going to be in seminar with him next year and am really proud that I passed the testing to get in.

Everyone accepted my invitation.

I was so excited that I forgot to help my mom with the food.

I got out all of the pool toys.

I wanted to make sure everyone had a good time.

I wore my new bathing suit.

When Jacob arrived, he jumped right in the pool and started to make up games.

They were fun.

He’s really funny.

He’s not really someone I can “talk to.”

I have my Hannah and Katie for that.

But if I want to play a game, or do some math, or talk about music, Jacob is great.

I like talking about those things.

Sometimes.

He’s very easy to be around, even if he isn’t always interested in what I have to say.

I know he is not trying to be mean.

I cannot wait for sixth grade to start!

Leave a Reply

