Dads and Daughters

This post is inspired by listening to Kwame Alexander read his poetry and speak of the power poetry has to share feelings, as well as a piece on the radio sharing the top 10 things fathers should say to their daughters.

Father – You could not tell me that you loved me, that you were proud, that I was beautiful. You saved that praise for your only son. I was less than, invisible; felt unloved. I dreamed of hugs, kindness, and attention. Instead, I learned to be strong, independent, and to not wait for others to notice me. I owe you my independence and my insecurity.

Dad – Although I was not your flesh and blood, you accepted me into your family. You loved me, laughed with me, and offered me your wisdom. You cared about my well-being. I was heard, noticed, loved. I am thankful for your generosity, kindness, and care. I learned to feel safe, rely on others, and give to others, by your example. I owe you my loyalty and trust.

Husband – You have stood by me through storms and sunshine. You support me and are a great dad to our daughter. You listen to her, play with her, and tuck her in at night. You check in on her before you go to bed. You help her with her homework, coach her in softball, and read to her each night. She will learn to believe in herself, take risks, and live and love all that life has to offer, thanks to your example.

8 thoughts on “Dads and Daughters

  1. This is so powerful – what an amazing structure. I agree that the “I owe you my…” is so important. My father always said, “Our greatest strength is our greatest weakness and our greatest weakness is our greatest strength.” I think you brought this idea to life in your piece. Thank you for sharing.
    Clare

Leave a Reply

