Mea in Guided Reading

IMG_1152

Working at the school district at which my kids attend, here and there, has provided me with some wonderful opportunities that I would not have otherwise had.

In Kindergarten, I was able to teach Mea guided reading, for a little bit.

There were only three students who needed to be in the same group and too many other groups to meet with during the p.m. session of Kindergarten.

We found a way for me to see these three students as much as my schedule would allow. Mea was in this group of readers.

They were able to pronounce almost all of the words they were encountering in their reading. In fact, one of the students read “trellis” when he saw it in a book.

I exposed them to new vocabulary and different genres of books.

We talked about how smoother and more automatic when we read.

We discussed characters and plot; we compared and contrasted different books about similar topics.

We learned how to ask, and then answer questions about what we were reading.

We wrote about what we read and answering beyond and about the text questions.

Mea sometimes struggled with these types of questions. Her peers modeled for her how to think and respond – it stretched her.

Other times, Mea would see something in the book that was unique – he was able to share her insights with her classmates.

As a group, we enjoyed reading beginning chapter books and nonfiction texts that helped us learn about the world.

It was an incredible opportunity – one that I would never have had if her teacher hadn’t been creative about problem-solving around the schedule, and generous about sharing her students with me.

6 thoughts on “Mea in Guided Reading

  1. Great post! Wow! Kudos to you and the teacher for working this out. Sounds like an awesome team. It’s so fun to see kids improve and get more out of their classtime. Nice job and thank you!

  2. So glad that things worked out for everyone’s benefit. Sounds like everybody had a chance to grow. Loved how Mea’s peers jumped in to help and model.

  3. I agree that it is a bonus when you teach in the same district and even the same school as you own children. I’m sure Mea thought it was pretty cool too, especially since she was in kindergarten.

  4. I agree that it is an added bonus when you teach in the same district and even the same school as your own children. I’m sure Mea though it was pretty cool too, especially since she was in kindergarten.

Leave a comment