Chapter 5 – The Way I See It

Tourette Syndrome

Tourette Syndrome is when someone doesn’t want to do a certain thing, but sometimes they do it, but they don’t want to do it.

Sometimes it just happens.

My friend was diagnosed with Tourette Syndrome.

Other people had trouble understanding him.

I didn’t.

I even wrote an essay about how it’s important to understand when others have something tough to deal with.

I think that maybe this is like me and Asperger’s.

Other students tried to bug him.

When he asked them to stop, they just did it more or louder.

That’s bullying.

I didn’t do that.

One time, I also asked them to stop.

They didn’t listen to me either.

But later, my friend said, “thank you.”

I think he was glad that I told them to stop too.

It’s not fair that they won’t stop doing something that bugs him.

When I am humming and don’t realize it, and he tells me to stop, I do.

It bothers him.

Things bother me and I like when other people stop doing those things.

Like calling me a nickname, or not paying attention to the teacher.

It’s being a good friend when you listen to what someone is asking.

This has nothing to do with having Tourette Syndrome.

15 thoughts on “Chapter 5 – The Way I See It

  1. I have 5 diagnosed kids on the spectrum in my class and several others I might diagnose, but as I say quite frequently–aren’t we all somewhere on the spectrum? I think being on the spectrum is, in many ways, a more normal reaction to how loud and unruly our world has become. I think this is why people on the spectrum are able to share exactly why it’s not okay to treat people poorly. They are our truth tellers in current society.

    As you can tell, this piece hit home for me.

  2. Your son is a true friend. It is so easy pretend you don’t see or hear something rather then standing up and saying it is wrong.

  3. How important to recognize this has nothing to do with having Tourette Syndrome (or any other thing a person might be diagnosed as having). That’s a keen insight.

  4. Your son knows what’s right in his world and he has a code he lives by. Unfortunately there are too many people out there who don’t understand the code of behavior.

  5. Once again he’s right. We’ve had kids with Tourette’s. Generally speaking, their classmates have grown with them and they understand. They often are their defenders. Your son is especially mindful of what is the right thing to do. A quality many are not as in touch with.

  6. I think it is so wise, as a mom, that you are trying out writing from your son’s point of view. I hope you’ll write a post or two at some point sharing your thoughts/reflections on what it is like to put yourself in his shoes. Have you read The Reason I Jump? It’s told by a 13 yr old boy with autism. It’s incredibly eye-opening in so many ways.

Leave a comment