The Way I See It – Chapter 11

Email

My school gives us an email account.

My friends from fifth grade have been emailing me throughout the summer.

“What have you been doing?”

“Have you seen anyone?”

I wrote that I saw Johnny and Jimmy.

Summer has been a little boring, so I don’t know what else to write.

I have to “think of the other person” and “ask them a question about themselves.”

So I do.

And my friends write back.

Sarah shares about what her brother has been researching: Solar freakin’ roadways.

I think that freakin’ is a bad word.

I hope I don’t get into trouble for reading it.

I wonder if I should tell her to tell her brother that he shouldn’t use that word.

The video is funny, though.

A good idea too.

I like how Sarah wants to change the world.

I’m glad that she’s my friend.

Jimmy emails too.

He asks me what I ate for dinner.

I tell him, but he never writes back.

I’m not sure why he asked.

I’m not sure why he didn’t write back either.

I even asked him about his summer.

12 thoughts on “The Way I See It – Chapter 11

  1. We are really enjoying your posts. What a fresh take on SOL. Your writing would serve as a great mentor when our teachers teach perspective.

  2. Sometimes the way he thinks makes me sad. Don’t you wish we could have a little more control over what happens to our kids–how they think about stuff? I think free will is a great thing, but as a mother…

  3. I also find the rules of email somewhat confusing. If someone responds to me do I respond back? Who write the last email and when do you know the conversation is over? If I’m confused at times I can only imagine what it is like for a 12 year old.

  4. I’ve been trying to read all the posts, Aileen, enjoying your writing and that voice is getting clearer. Negotiating the rules if you want a conversation is not easy for me. Sometimes I answer a long e-mail & never get a reply, & I too wonder why.

  5. Wow Aileen. You are such a good mom. The social stuff is so painful with any kid but even more so with an Asperger’s kid! Good for you for being right beside him to process and filter.

  6. This is hard stuff. Hard to understand why people do what they do. It doesn’t make sense. We don’t see it from their point of view. What a great it experience to write this with your son.

  7. Such honest questions and comments.
    Thank you for writing.
    I love coming here.

    P.S. I’m a little lost without my home computer. Trying to navigate with another but it is not the same. Can’t find things, print, and more. Thank you for your kind messages.

Leave a comment