#SOL18 – WIP Chapter 11

Today was not a good day.

I was sort of goofing around in band when the director, Mr. Ryan, asked, in front of everyone, if I wanted him to call my mom about how I was acting?

I was so angry. Sure, I was goofing around, but so were Nick and Aaron. And that’s just in my section.

I could feel my face burn.

I wanted to quit right then and there.

Luckily, the bell rang and I didn’t have time to do something I would regret.

Maybe I would apologize later for how I was acting, but I also feel that he owes me an apology for embarrassing me.

I guess I couldn’t stop thinking about it because all of the girls at lunch asked me what was wrong. I couldn’t imagine reliving that humiliating scene by telling them.

Lindsey texted later that night and I told her a bit of what happened:

R u ok?

Not really.

Why?

Something happened in band.

Want 2 talk?

Not really. But thanks.

I’m here if u want to talk.

Thanks.

The next thing I know, Aaron sends me a text. The first one ever and I’ve known him for two years.

It’s a group text. He’s invited me into a group called “Honors Math.”

I start to figure out who the other boys in the group are by what they write. I think I know who Nick is, so I put his name into my phone under my contacts.

Someone actually writes, why did u invite Jack?

Then Aaron replies, bc he’s my friend.

I’m almost glad we got into trouble together. That’s the nicest things anyone’s written about me in all of middle school.

8 thoughts on “#SOL18 – WIP Chapter 11

  1. Bummer when you get signaled out for something several others are doing. “Then Aaron replies, bc he’s my friend.” Love this. Things are looking up.

  2. Oh, my heart!!! God love, Jack! I can feel his excitement in his reflection of receiving the invitation to the group and being acknowledged as a “friend.” This is the type of social scenario I witness in my middle school hallway outside of my classroom. The little silent “yes” look when one gets included.

    Additionally, I love the multi-formatted prose here, especially with the realistic texting conversation.

Leave a comment